Bill every clinical service, and catch the fills that lost money.
DocStation has been saying pharmacists are providers, and should be paid like providers, since 2017, when that was an unfashionable position. The product is good, the mission is real, and the CPESN work is genuine community pharmacy alignment. Clinical billing is one of eight products here, sharing a connection with margin, audit, prior authorization and purchasing.
A clinical services product built by people who believed the thesis first.
Founded on the argument, not fitted to it later
DocStation was founded in 2017 by Samm Anderegg, a pharmacist, and Josh Matz, a software engineer, and its stated purpose is to empower pharmacists as frontline care providers and ensure they get paid for the work they do. The homepage leads with "Bill insurance for every clinical service you provide" and observes that pharmacies are "already providing care, vaccines, consultations, testing" while leaving revenue on the table. That is the correct diagnosis and they published it early.
Medical billing carried all the way to the claim
They state they submit 837P claims, check eligibility in real time, manage ERAs and track revenue, covering vaccines, testing, MTM and DME, and they market a proprietary feature called BIN Billing for automated claim translation. The claim gets carried, not only the note, and that is the harder half of clinical services.
Community pharmacy alignment with substance behind it
DocStation states that its pharmacies use CPESN eCare Plans and payer programs to participate in value-based care, and its published partner roster includes CPESN USA, NCPA, APhA and Health Mart. Mission alignment with independent community pharmacy is real here, and for a lot of owners that matters as much as the feature list.
Pricing published openly
DocStation publishes tiers openly, at $129 and $249 per location per month with stated usage fees per claim or as a percentage of paid, and says there are no setup fees. We publish our pricing too. Credit where it is due for letting an owner evaluate this at nine in the evening without booking a call.
Clinical revenue is one leak. There are usually others.
Everything DocStation does sits in one domain: the clinical encounter and the medical claim that should follow it. Do that well and you close a real gap, because unbilled clinical work is revenue at a total discount. It is one gap of several. The fill that adjudicated below acquisition cost this morning, the audit letter asking for two hundred claims, the prior authorization nobody owns, the dead stock and the DSCSA request are separate problems with separate answers. Here they share one system, so the claim, the cost, the encounter and the evidence already sit together. The real question is how many vendors you want to assemble.
Overlapping in one domain, diverging outside it.
DocStation publishes its capabilities and its pricing clearly, so both columns here are unusually well grounded.
| Capability | Attergo | DocStation |
|---|---|---|
| 837P medical claims | Yes. Encounter to 837P to 835, with the documentation checked while the patient is still present. | Yes. They state 837P claims for vaccines, testing, MTM and DME, with real-time eligibility and ERA management. |
| Real-time eligibility | Yes, checked before the service so a write-off becomes a clean claim or an honest cash conversation. | Yes, stated explicitly. |
| CPESN eCare Plan participation | No. We do not participate in CPESN eCare Plan workflows. | Yes. They state their pharmacies use CPESN eCare Plans and payer programs for value-based care. |
| Published pricing | Yes. Flat per store, and never a percentage of collections. | Yes, published per location, with usage fees that include a percentage of paid on standard claims. |
| Per-fill margin against acquisition cost | Yes, seconds after adjudication, against your own wholesaler invoice, with the cost source labeled. | Not stated in their published materials. |
| PBM audit evidence and response packages | Yes. Evidence assembled as the work happens, exported per claim from a pasted list. | Not stated in their published materials. |
| Electronic prior authorization | Yes, started by the rejection itself and tracked through renewal. | Not stated in their published materials. |
| Purchasing, dead stock and DSCSA | Yes, with buying decisions informed by the claims data in the same system. | Not stated in their published materials. |
| Dispensing system integrations named publicly | PioneerRx in production, plus documented import for other systems. | They name PioneerRx, Liberty and DRX, plus CSV import, and state they work with any pharmacy management system. |
Every entry in the DocStation column is drawn from the pages listed at the foot of this page. Where their own materials do not state a capability, the cell says so rather than guessing.
Two honest recommendations.
Choose DocStation if
clinical services are the gap and you want a focused tool that does exactly that, from a team that has been building for pharmacist provider status longer than most. If you are a CPESN pharmacy the case is stronger again, because eCare Plan participation and the payer program relationships that come with it are theirs. A pharmacy whose margin and audit posture are already in hand, and whose real problem is that the vaccinations and reviews never turn into claims, should buy the focused product and get on with it.
Choose Attergo if
clinical billing is one item on a longer list and you have decided you are done assembling vendors. In the same quarter you need to catch underwater fills, answer an audit letter, run prior authorizations as tracked cases and bill the clinical work. Here those share one connection, one login and one contract, and the answers you are actually looking for live in the joins between them.
The capability that carries most of this weight on our side is Billing, and it is one of eight on a single connection.
Every claim above traces to their own words.
- DocStation homepage: "Bill insurance for every clinical service you provide"
- DocStation About: founded 2017 by Samm Anderegg and Josh Matz, and the stated mission
- DocStation Features: 837P claims, real-time eligibility, ERAs, BIN Billing, and named integrations
- DocStation Friends: the CPESN eCare Plan statement and the full partner roster
- DocStation Pricing: published per-location tiers and usage fees
What we could not verify
DocStation is often described as helping pharmacies with credentialing. The pages we retrieved describe education on billing fundamentals, payer requirements and contracting basics, so we make no claim either way and you should ask them. They also describe payer reach in aggregate, naming over three thousand payers rather than specific plans, and publish no feature detail on the depth of their eCare Plan support.
See what one connection surfaces across all of it.
Thirty minutes, one facility, a read-only connection and credentials you can revoke. We come back with what your own last month actually cost you.
Comparison based on publicly available information as of 2 August 2026. Tell us if something here is out of date and we will fix it. sales@attergo.com